Brigham City Carnegie Library

Brigham City Carnegie Library
26 East Forest Street
Brigham City, UT 84302
435-723-5850

Hours of Operation:
Mo - Th, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
Fr - Sa, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

My Account
Library Catalog
Classes & Events
Find a Book

  If you like Nicholas Sparks, you might like:


The Five People You Meet in Heaven
The Five People You Meet in Heaven
By Albom, Mitch
2005-11 - Hyperion Books
9781401302474 CHECK CATALOG

From the author of the number one "New York Times "bestseller "Tuesdays with Morrie "comes this long-awaited follow-up.
Eddie is a wounded war veteran, an old man who has lived, in his mind, an uninspired life. His job is fixing rides at a seaside amusement park. On his 83rd birthday, a tragic accident kills him as he tries to save a little girl from a falling cart. He awakes in the afterlife, where he learns that heaven is not a destination. It s a place where your life is explained to you by five people, some of whom you knew, others who may have been strangers. One by one, from childhood to soldier to old age, Eddie s five people revisit their connections to him on earth, illuminating the mysteries of his meaningless life, and revealing the haunting secret behind the eternal question: Why was I here?
A moving and profound contemporary fable, The Five People You Meet in Heaven is an important reminder of the interconnectedness of us all. …More

Once Upon a Time, There Was You
Once Upon a Time, There Was You
By Berg, Elizabeth
2011-10 - Ballantine Books
9780345517326 CHECK CATALOG

A beautiful story about the power of love and family, this new novel by the beloved, bestselling author of "The Last Time I Saw You" follows the journey of a couple who meet again after their divorce. 304 pp. …More

First, Best and Only
First, Best and Only
By Delinsky, Barbara
2012-03 - Severn House Publishers
9780727881380 CHECK CATALOG

Marni Lange was just 17 when she fell passionately in love with the irresistibly sexy Brian Webster. Then a tragic accident tore them apart. Fourteen years later, Marni is now a successful businesswoman, about to appear on the cover of a national magazine--and come face to face with the world-famous photographer profiling her . . . Brian Webster. …More

The Smoke Jumper
The Smoke Jumper
By Evans, Nicholas
2002-07 - Dell Publishing Company
9780440235163 CHECK CATALOG

In a searing novel of love and loyalty, guilt and honor, the acclaimed author of the #1 "New York Times bestseller The Horse Whisperer gives his millions of readers another hero...
The Smoke Jumper
His name is Connor Ford and he falls like an angel of mercy from the sky, braving the flames to save the woman he loves but knows he cannot have. For Julia Bishop is the partner of his best friend and fellow "smoke jumper," Ed Tully. Julia loves them both--until a fiery tragedy on Montana's Snake Mountain forces her to choose between them, and burns a brand on all their hearts.
In the wake of the fire, Connor embarks on a harrowing journey to the edge of human experience, traveling the world's worst wars and disasters to take photographs that find him fame but never happiness. Reckless of a life he no longer wants, again and again he dares death to take him, until another fateful day on another continent, he must walk through fire once more... …More

The Moon Looked Down
The Moon Looked Down
By Garlock, Dorothy
2009-07 - Thorndike Press
9781410416896 CHECK CATALOG

The new Americana romance from bestselling author Dorothy Garlock, this time set against the backdrop of WWII.

Sophie Heller's family immigrated from Germany to Victory, a small town in Illinois, before WWII began. Now that the war has affected the town, the townspeople discriminate against Sophie and her family. When a train derails, it is an accident but the Heller family is blamed. Coming to Sophie's rescue is a teacher from the high school, and despite their cultural differences, a romance starts to bloom. …More

Night Road
Night Road
By Hannah, Kristin
2011-03 - St. Martin's Press
9780312364427 CHECK CATALOG

BookPage Notable Title

"Night Road" is a vivid, emotionally complex novel that raises profound questions about motherhood, loss, identity, and forgiveness. It is an exquisite, heartbreaking novel that speaks to women everywhere about the things that matter most. …More

Pay It Forward
Pay It Forward
By Hyde, Catherine Ryan
2010-04 - Simon & Schuster
9781439170403 CHECK CATALOG

An inspiring novel about an optimistic twelve-year-old who changes the world with a social studies project. …More

Candles on Bay Street
Candles on Bay Street
By McKinnon, K. C.
Editor Nevler, Leona
2000-10 - Ballantine Books
9780449005552 CHECK CATALOG

In the tradition of "The Bridges of Madison County" and "Message in a Bottle", the bestselling author of "Dancing at the Harvest Moon" presents a moving story about a beautiful woman who returns to her small hometown, carrying with her a secret and still flaming the desires of a man who loved her as a young girl. …More

Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas
Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas
By Patterson, James
2002-04 - Grand Central Publishing
9780446679596 CHECK CATALOG

Katie Wilkinson has found the perfect man at last--but one day, he disappears, leaving behind only a diary, written by his ex-wife, for her to read. She reads on, filled with terror and hope as she struggles to understand what happened--and whether her new love can survive. …More

My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
By Picoult, Jodi
2005-02 - Washington Square Press
9780743454537 CHECK CATALOG

2005 ALA Young Adult Top Ten Selection
Written with grace, wisdom, and sensitivity, this novel is about a teen who was conceived as a bone marrow match for her sister Kate, and what happens when she begins to question who she really is. …More

A Risk Worth Taking
A Risk Worth Taking
By Pilcher, Robin
2008-04 - St. Martin's Press
9780312945626 CHECK CATALOG

Dan Porter had it all: a big house in suburban London, a beautiful wife, three children in private school, and a high-paying job. But then, it all collapsed like a house of cards. Now Dan stays home while his angry wife pursues a career, and his marriage falters. Returning to his old profession could mend the rift, but Dan needs to do something else, something more...
Then, Dan hears about a company for sale in northern Scotland, and the temptation is too great to resist. With his son Josh and two dogs in tow, he lands in a primitive cottage above a frigid loch. As he takes stock of his past, he discovers a community who desperately needs his help, a new chance for the future, a risk that requires a leap of faith...and an astonishing love.
…More

The Lighthouse Keeper
The Lighthouse Keeper
By Pratt, James Michael
2001-02 - St. Martin's Press
9780312974695 CHECK CATALOG

Orphaned at the age 10, Peter O'Banyon goes to live with his Uncle Billie, the keeper of the Port Hope Island Lighthouse in Massachusetts. There, Peter learns an astonishing truth of Billie's past, and the power of love. Through the years, WW II rocks his faith, and he returns to his young bride and to tragedy. In the final days of his own life, Peter needs to pass on the secrets to his own daughter. But to do it may take a miracle. Martin's Press. …More

The Silver Boat
The Silver Boat
By Rice, Luanne
2011-04 - Pamela Dorman Books
9780670022502 CHECK CATALOG

BookPage Notable Title

From the beloved "New York Times"-bestselling Rice comes a heartwarming yet heart-wrenching portrait of three far-flung sisters who come home to Martha's Vineyard one last time."The Silver Boat" is Rice at her very best, complete with her singular talent for capturing a family in all its flawed complexity. …More

Love Story
Love Story
By Segal, Erich
1988-07 - Bantam Books
9780553275285 CHECK CATALOG

The story of a rich Harvard jock and a wisecracking Radcliffe music major who have nothing in common but love . . . and everything to share but time. Over 21 million copies of Love Story have been sold in 33 languages. …More

Burnt Mountain
Burnt Mountain
By Siddons, Anne Rivers
2011-07 - Grand Central Publishing
9780446566957 CHECK CATALOG

From one of our most acclaimed writers comes this dramatic tale of a well-born Southern woman whose life is forever changed by the betrayal of her mother and by the man she loves Growing up, the only place tomboy Thayer Wentworth felt at home was at her summer camp - Camp Sherwood Forest in the North Carolina Mountains. It was there that she came alive and where she met Nick Abrams, her first love...and first heartbreak. Years later, Thayer marries Aengus, an Irish professor, and they move into her deceased grandmother's house in Atlanta, only miles from Camp Edgewood on Burnt Mountain where her father died years ago in a car accident. There, Aengus and Thayer lead quiet and happy lives until Aengus is invited up to the camp to tell old Irish tales to the campers. As Aengus spends less time at home and becomes more distant, Thayer must confront dark secrets-about her mother, her first love, and, most devastating of all, her husband. …More

Family Blessings
Family Blessings
By Spencer, LaVyrle
2011-01 - Berkley Publishing Group
9780425239599 CHECK CATALOG

The classic "New York Times" bestseller.
Lee Reston has a fulfilling life imbued with the love of her three wonderful children. Then a shattering event-the loss of her oldest son, Greg-tears her world apart. In her anguish, she turns to police officer Christopher Lallek, Greg's best friend. Their shared mourning develops into friendship, and then something deeper. But life is never simple. The family that was once the core of her existence becomes a mixed blessing, as Lee explores where family ties end-and her needs as a woman begin. …More

The Bridges of Madison County
The Bridges of Madison County
By Waller, Robert James
Author Waller
1992-04 - Grand Central Publishing
9780446516525 CHECK CATALOG

A timeless, universally appealing story of love and loss. In just four days, two people find one another and commit themselves to each other for a lifetime even though they remain apart. …More

The Wedding Letters
The Wedding Letters
By Wright, Jason F.
2011-09 - Shadow Mountain
9781609080570 CHECK CATALOG

The Wednesday Letters" introduced readers to Jack Cooper's tradition of writing letters to his wife every Wednesday. But the love story didn't end there. When Jack and Laurel's grandson, Noah Cooper, bumps into Rachel, it's love at first sight--at least for Noah. Readers are sure to laugh and cry, gasp and cheer, for two hearts that were meant to be one. …More

 

Library Blog
Online Book Clubs
Library Info
Contact Us
Pioneer Library
Literacy & ESL
Library History
Friends of the Library & Book Sale
Brigham City Home Page
BCPL on Facebook BCPL on Twitter