Brigham City Carnegie Library

Brigham City Carnegie Library
26 East Forest Street
Brigham City, UT 84302
435-723-5850

Hours of Operation*:
Mo - Th, 10 a.m. - 8:50* p.m.
Fr - Sa, 10 a.m. - 5:50* p.m.

Catalog & Account
Teen eLibrary
Classes & Events
Find a Book

  Book Lists - Books for Kids - Christmas Books

Just a few stories to share to celebrate the season!

Book Cover Baboushka and the Three Kings
By Robbins, Ruth
Sidjakov, Nicolas
1960/09 - Houghton Mifflin Company
9780395276730 CHECK CATALOG

The Russian folktale about an old woman's endless search for the Christ child. ...More

Book Cover Mr. Willowby's Christmas Tree
By Barry, Robert
Barry, Robert
2000/10 - Doubleday Books for Young Readers
0385327218 CHECK CATALOG

"Mr. Willowby's Christmas tree
Came by special delivery.
Full and fresh and glistening green--
The biggest tree he'd ever seen.
That was the trouble. The tree was so tall, it couldn't stand up straight in his parlor. Mr. Willowby asked his butler to chop off the top of the tree. What happens to the treetop? Where will it be for Christmas? Snuggle up with this story and follow along through a forest full of friendly creatures who get to share in a bit of Christmas joy. ...More

Book Cover Snowmen at Christmas
By Buehner, Caralyn
Buehner, Mark
2005/09 - Dial Books
0803729952 CHECK CATALOG

This snappy and entertaining companion to the "New York Times" bestseller "Snowmen at Night" depicts all the best parts of the holiday, replete with icy treats and a snowman Kris Kringle. Illustrations. ...More

Book Cover The Christmas Candle
By Evans, Richard Paul
Collins, Jacob
1998/10 - Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
0689823193 CHECK CATALOG

In this modern-day parable about a young man who has lost his way, the author of "The Christmas Box" presents an inspiring story about faith, hope, and charity, accompanied by beautiful, full-color paintings done by a leading American realist. ...More

Book Cover The Polar Express
By Van Allsburg, Chris
Van Allsburg, Chris
1985/10 - Houghton Mifflin Company
0395389496 CHECK CATALOG

A magical train ride on Christmas Eve takes a boy to the North Pole to receive a special gift from Santa. Winner of the1986 Caldecott Medal. ...More

Book Cover The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey
By Wojciechowski, Susan
Lynch, P. J.
1995/10 - Candlewick Press (MA)
1564023206 CHECK CATALOG

As full of wonder as Christmas itself, this is a story that will not long be forgotten, one that will be read and treasured for many Christmases to come. A woodcarver's broken and bitter heart warms to the spirit of the season, when he is approached by a widow who asks him to carve a new creche in time for Christmas--and allow her young son to watch. Full color. ...More

Book Cover Where Is Christmas, Jesse Bear?
By Carlstrom, Nancy White
Degen, Bruce
2003/10 - Aladdin Paperbacks
0689862334 CHECK CATALOG

Jesse Bear can feel Christmas while trimming the tree, baking cookies, and going ice-skating. But Jesse Bear feels Christmas most of all when he's with his family on Christmas Eve. Full color. ...More

Book Cover The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
By Robinson, Barbara
Brown, Judith Gwyn
1972/10 - Joanna Cotler Books
9780060250430 CHECK CATALOG

Called one of America's favorite Christmas stories, and now a classic television movie," The Best Christmas Pageant Ever" has been a favorite of young readers the world over since 1972. Funny, memorable, and outrageous, it is the story of a family of incorrigible children who discover the Christmas story for the first time and help everyone else rediscover its true meaning. ...More

Book Cover A Christmas Carol
By Dickens, Charles
Rackham, Arthur
2006/07 - Dover Publications
9780486451244 CHECK CATALOG

This illustrated edition of the yuletide classic features 12 full-color plates plus 18 black-and-white drawings. The timeless appeal of Rackham's evocative illustrations form the perfect complement to the master storyteller's wise and witty prose. Dickens's immortal tale still sends a message that strikes the reader's heart and soul. ...More

Book Cover Morris's Disappearing Bag: A Christmas Story
By Wells, Rosemary
1993/01 - Rebound by Sagebrush
9780808526674 CHECK CATALOG

Everyone in Morris's family is pleased with his Christmas present but Morris. ...More

Book Cover How the Grinch Stole Christmas!
By Dr Seuss
1957/10 - Random House Children's Books
9780394800790 CHECK CATALOG

BookPage Notable Title
The Grinch, whose heart is two sizes too small, hates Who-ville's holiday celebrations, and plans to steal all the presents to prevent Christmas from coming. To his amazement, Christmas comes anyway, and the Grinch discovers the true meaning of the holiday. ...More

Book Cover The Legend of the Poinsettia
By dePaola, Tomie
1994/10 - Putnam Publishing Group
9780399216923 CHECK CATALOG

In the tradition of The Legend of the Indian Paintbrush and The Legend of the Bluebonnet, Caldecott Honoree Tomie dePaola retells the Mexican legend of how the poinsettia came to be. It's a beautiful tale certain to please, with beautiful full-color illustrations. ...More

Book Cover Madeline's Christmas
By Bemelmans, Ludwig
1985/10 - Viking Books
9780670806669 CHECK CATALOG

With everyone else sick in bed with a cold on Christmas eve, it is up to Madeline to run the school and she finds a remarkable helper in a rug-selling magician. ...More

Book Cover The Year of the Perfect Christmas Tree: An Appalachian Story
By Houston, Gloria McLendon
Cooney, Barbara
1988/09 - Dial Books
9780803702998 CHECK CATALOG

On the night before Christmas, Ruthie and her mama climbed the rocky craigs of Pine Grove to keep the promise Ruthie's papa had made before he was called to war--to give the town its traditional Christmas tree. Full-color illustrations. ...More

Book Cover Dream Snow
By Carle, Eric
2000/09 - Philomel Books
9780399235795 CHECK CATALOG

In this musical and sound effects book, a farmer celebrates Christmas after the first snowfall. When he awakens from a Christmas Eve dream about a snowstorm, the farmer discovers that it has really snowed. Putting on his red suit, he goes outside, puts gifts under the Christmas tree for his animals, and presses a button near the tree, creating a most surprising musical treat for children everywhere. Full color. ...More

Book Cover The Wild Christmas Reindeer
By Brett, Jan
1990/10 - Putnam Publishing Group
9780399221927 CHECK CATALOG

Brett provides a marvelously original Christmas story in which Santa asks young Teeka to get his reindeer ready to fly on Christmas Eve. "Beautifully conceived and finely wrought".--Booklist, starred review. "This sweet Christmas fantasy . . . shows Brett at her best".--Publishers Weekly. Full-color illustrations. ...More

Book Cover Guess Who's Coming to Santa's for Dinner?
By dePaola, Tomie
dePaola, Tomie
2004/09 - Putnam Publishing Group
9780399242717 CHECK CATALOG

With brightly colored illustrations, a playful speech-bubble narrative, and a story bursting with humor and seasonal cheer, this picture book shows how Santa's family celebrates Christmas dinner. ...More

Book Cover Jan Brett's Christmas Treasury
By Brett, Jan
Brett, Jan
2001/09 - Putnam Publishing Group
9780399237416 CHECK CATALOG

Featuring seven Jan Brett books in one--"The Mitten, The Wild Christmas Reindeer, Trouble with Trolls, The Twelve Days of Christmas, The Hat, Christmas Trolls", and "The Night Before Christmas"--this treasury draws upon the cultures of the countries in which her stories are set and brings readers both original tales and classics as charming, lively, and timeless as Brett's art. ...More

Book Cover An Orange for Frankie
By Polacco, Patricia
2004/09 - Philomel Books
9780399243028 CHECK CATALOG

A BookPage Notable Title
Based on her own family history, Polacco retells the story of her grandmother's youngest brother Frankie, a little boy who learns--and teaches--an important lesson about giving during one Christmas. Full color. ...More

Book Cover Christmas in the Barn
By Brown, Margaret Wise
Goode, Diane
2004/10 - HarperCollins Publishers
9780060526344 CHECK CATALOG

For this larger, full-color edition of Brown's classic book, first published in 1952, Caldecott Honoree Goode has created a new tableau of visitors to the barn that will please generations of new readers. ...More

 

 

Web Links
Library Blog
Library Info
Contact Us
LibraryLetter
Pioneer Library
Literacy & ESL
Library History
Friends of the Library & Book Sale
Brigham City Home Page
BCPL on Facebook BCPL on Twitter Follow Me on Pinterest